Boxer Amir Khan goes to Pakistan

Earlier I wrote about Amir Khan, British boxer, winning the WBA title and breaking stereotypes. 23 year old Amir has recently flow to Pakistan to help with disaster relief. [Which one in Pakistan you ask? The floods affecting over 20 million.]

The 23-year-old Khan (23-1, 17 knockouts), a former Olympic silver medalist of Pakistani descent, left for Pakistan early on Monday but already had been raising awareness concerning the flooding disaster that rages on in Pakistan.

“You know, I’m going to go over to Pakistan and show my support. My parents came over from Pakistan. They were born there. I was born in England. But still, I have my roots. I got family there, and plenty of relatives there. My mom just came back from visiting there,” Khan told FanHouse during a recent interview.

“Six weeks ago, I was in Pakistan just before the weather kicked in the floods kicked in. I left just before that. I was in America when the floods happened, and I saw lots of live links to what was going on on news stations,” said Khan. “It’s sad to see over 2,000 people have died in this disaster, and over 15 million people have been affected.”

“This disaster, compared to the Pakistan earthquake about two years ago, and the Haiti disaster and also the tsunami in Thailand, if you could put all of those three together, the floods in Pakistan are as bad or worse than those,” said Khan.

“In Pakistan, it’s a real shame because it seems like it’s on its last legs,” said Khan. “It seems to me that they really need help. I’m not a politician, and I like to stay out of politics, but there are a lot of things that need improving in that country. This is a wake up call for Pakistan.”

Source.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

